Environment, Parks and Water Security

The Department of Environment, Parks and Water Security (DEPWS) was established by the Northern Territory Government on 8 September 2020.

This new department combined the functions of the previous Department of Environment and Natural Resources and the Parks and Wildlife Commission from the former Department of Tourism, Sport and Culture (DTSC).

The government established the department to combine many of the key functions that foster and protect the environment and natural resources in the Northern Territory (NT). This includes water, land resource management, environmental issues and the parks and wildlife functions.

Data supplied by this department is free of charge to the public and supplied under the Creative Commons License https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/legalcode. Each zipped geospatial data package provided by this department includes spatial data, metadata, reports and maps if available.

The department hosts NR Maps (https://nrmaps.nt.gov.au/nrmaps.html). This is a free public web mapping tool to display NT natural resource information.