NT Water Control Districts (WCD)

Water Control Districts (WCDs) are areas declared where there is a need for enhanced management for the sustainability of groundwater and surface water resources. Under the Northern Territory Water Act 1992, the Minister can declare WCDs. WCDs are declared in areas where there is a high level of competition for water and/or require closer management of the water resources. Within the WCD a bore construction permit is required, water allocation plans can be developed and water extraction licences are required unless there is a specific exemption in place. There are 8 declared water control districts in the Northern Territory: - Darwin Rural declared 2 June 1999 - Gove declared 18 September 2002 - Daly Roper Beetaloo declared 22 June 2018 - Tenant Creek declared 15 July 2009 - Western Davenport declared 15 July 2009 - Ti Tree declared 21 October 2009 - Alice Springs declared 4 July 2007 - Great Artesian Basin declared 3 February 2010

Data and Resources


Field Value
Metadata https://www.ntlis.nt.gov.au/metadata/export_data?type=html&metadata_id=89EA8DBDF40F73C8E050CD9B21440C4D
Contact SDM Information Officer
Contact Email datarequests.denr@nt.gov.au
Data Group Environment
Refresh Frequency Refer to metadata
Last Updated 23 June 2021
Published 10 December 2019